Emergency Management

The Municipality of South Huron's Emergency Plan defines how the Municipality responds to major emergencies.  The plan outlines definitions and presents the roles and responsibilities of officials from every level of government and from partner agencies.

To view a copy of the Municipality of South Huron Emergency Plan, click here.

When emergencies happen, they are usually first dealt with at the community level by local emergency response organizations, including: South Huron, police, fire, emergency medical services and public works.

The Municipality of South Huron is policed by the Ontario Provincial Police. Working out of the office located at the north end of Exeter on Highway 4 are 16 constables, 1 sergeant, 1 detective and 4 auxiliary officers. Huron County has a staff of 80 officers covering the county and any of these officers can cover the South Huron area as needed.

County of Huron

If a major emergency occurs in Huron County, the head of council (Warden) would implement the County's emergency response plan, or declare an emergency, if required. Members of the County Emergency Control Group would then come together and work to ensure a controlled, centralized and coordinated emergency response takes place.

To view a copy of the Huron County Emergency Plan, click here.

Emergency Management Ontario

A branch of the Ministry of Community Safety and Correctional Services, Emergency Management Ontario is responsible for promoting, developing and maintaining emergency programs throughout the province.

To visit Emergency Management Ontario, click here.

Office of the Fire Marshall

The Office of the Fire Marshall (OFM) is a branch of the Public Division of the Ontario Ministry of Community Safety and Correction Services click here.  The mission of the OFM is to contribute to an environment for the residents of Ontario that is safe from fire and other public safety hazards by providing leadership and expertise in the reduction and elimination of these hazards